Hedgebae Thoughts

why do you bite so damn much?!

REAL FACT: The first documentation of the life of a hedgehog was in 1991, as an educational and inspiring platform game. Its influence can still be felt today, though what's notable about this endeavor is that it lacked information about biting.

REAL FACT: Hedgehogs bite, though they're not known for such. As with anything with teeth, there's a chance it'll bite. Including humans. I bite. He bites. She bites. Cuz we all bite.

REAL FACT: Sometimes it's out of curiosity, like if you smell tasty enough. You're alluring and I'd like more. (Or you ask me really nicely because I'm a cute pet? bats eyelashes)

REAL FACT: Sometimes it's to communicate and express themselves! Context matters! I bite when I'm happy. I bite when I'm mad. I bite as foreplay, and as play and being playful. I bite when I think you're the bee's knees and fantastic (SEE ALSO: cute aggression. And I like biting noses).

REAL FACT: And sometimes it's a way to explore the environment. Or something. "I have no idea what this item is on the menu; I'm going to order it and bite it."

REAL FACT: ...It's more of a nibble, really. I can't bite really hard. Part psychological, part I'm-just-not-that-strong.

REAL FACT: There's various aversion techniques to combat biting. They include pushing against the bite, blowing a puff of air on their nose, and even loudly reprimanding with "NO!" Consent and boundaries are a thing. If nibbles and bites aren't your thing, tell me no! I also make it a habit to not just spring it on people.

More Real Facts

Guess which ones are pertinent!

Have you heard of The Hedghog's Dilemma?

Because let's be real for a second.

The hedgehog's dilemma, or sometimes the porcupine dilemma, is a metaphor about the challenges of human intimacy. It describes a situation in which a group of hedgehogs all seek to become close to one another in order to share heat during cold weather. They must remain apart, however, as they cannot avoid hurting one another with their sharp spines. Though they all share the intention of a close reciprocal relationship, this may not occur, for reasons they cannot avoid. Wikipedia

But then Freud found it and ran with it, and I hate Freud. But anyway.

This came to mind because I'm introverted (and shy) as hell. This also came to mind because depression and anxiety (and trauma, and neurosis, and toxic defense mechanisms, and--) can be a sonofabitch.

But I am willing to risk getting hurt sometimes. Perhaps it's inevitable.

Sometimes, it's worth it.

🦔